Basics to a Gluten-Free Diet

shutterstock_168666851Do you know anyone who is on a gluten-free diet? They might probably be suffering from Coeliac disease. This is a lifelong autoimmune disease caused by the reaction of the immune system to gluten, a protein which is prevalent in wheat, barley and rye. Hence, this diet is taken up for the rest of the life.

For those who have been recently diagnosed, this might by a hard pill to swallow, but now, gluten-free diet is easily achievable. We discuss a few factors you can look at when adopting a gluten-free diet. Start reading food labels on all your food purchases. Take a little bother to check the food labels from which you can see if the ingredients used are suitable for your gluten-free diet. Look out for wheat, rye or barley and other grains which contain gluten. There are gluten-free substitutes for your staple food. With Pasta and bread a good gluten agent, substitutes are available that are not far from what a pasta and a bread offer. Find your gluten-free pasta, bread, crackers, cereals and more.

Natural gluten-free foods are everywhere. Consume lots of natural fresh food such as fruits, vegetables, meat, fish and cheese. Build your gluten-free diet around these. Most grain-based cereals contain gluten, try quinoa, teff, polenta, millet, corn, tapioca are gluten-free grains which you can opt for. Avoid certain alcohols as it may contain gluten. You have to watch your wine glass before you gulp down your favourite drink. Beer is not suitable for your diet. You may consume cider, wine, spirits and liquors.

Don’t skip a family dinner because you are on a special diet. Search online for a perfect place for you and your family or your group of friends for dinner which offers gluten-free meals as well. Avoid cross contamination such as coming in to contact with gluten food even if it is just a little. For example, using spreading knives that have been used on a gluten containing food.

Sauces containing gluten to be forgone as condiments, pasta sauces and gravies are made of wheat flour which is gluten. Best practice is to know the ingredient list before you tuck in to the sauces before you. Spend time in the kitchen, understand and experiment for yourself on how you can make changes to your meal using gluten-free options. Even baking flour and other essential are available gluten free. If one is diagnosed with the coeliac disease, it does not mean, no more delicious meals. Gluten-free diet too have delicious and healthy meals.


Related Articles

Back to top button